Finishing Woes

Since I discovered this wonderful hobby just a short time ago I've discovered that I absolutely love spending long hours at my saw cutting away.  While I'm far from an expert at the saw, I've steadily seen improvement in my cutting and have even produced a few items that I'm quite proud of.  The problem is once I'm done cutting I'm absolutely clueless when it comes to finishing.  So far my attempts could easily be labeled as complete failures.  There is nothing worse to me than spending hours at the saw creating something nice and then ruining it in the finishing stage.  I've watched many youtube videos and read more tutorials than I can count and for some reason I'm just not getting the results.  To be honest it's led me to develop a bit of a fear of the whole finnishing process and my Wife keeps pointing out the stack of projects I've got sitting waiting for finishing.

I'm just wondering if anyone has any tips for me to help me get over this fear and maybe improve my finishing.  I will tell you that spray lacquer that I see people use in the Youtube videos seems to be my enemy.  I've ruined more than one project with that stuff...lol

Thanks,

Josh

Edited by TripleJScroller

Josh, I am not a fantastic finisher myself...as a matter of fact my dear wife did a lot of finishing on my early projects. One of my problems was i was in too big of a hurry! It does not matter what you are using, Varnish or stain or paint , you must let it dry! ... Once i learned this lesson i have made progress....I still never turn down help from the wife. :)

Absorb what you read. Have patience.

Every manufacture has instructions on how to apply their product..

What you didn't do was tell us where your problem is.

What the bad results are.

Is it runs? splatters? Cracking?

Does your work have a smoothe sanded surface...........?