Stack Cutting

devsdad98

Hi all,

I have an older pattern that I want to make several copies of for gifts. I have never tried stack cutting before. I started today but I was wondering if any of you out there had any tips or tricks. If so, I would like to know. It is a really nice cross pattern out of one of the older scroll saw mags. Let me know and thanks in advance.

Mark :)

Hey Mark. There are many ways to stack cut and you will probably use a little bit of info from everyone that posts. Here's my thoughts. Whenever I stack cut I always make sure my table is set at exaclty 90 degrees to the blade. The more detail in the cuts the smaller the stack. If I cut portraits from 1/8" stock, I will only stack 4 or 5 depending on how much detail. Always cut the interior cuts first (yeah, this is from experience). I use clear packing tape over the project to reduce burning. Bright lights, a drink, and good music make things much better, also.

Have fun and post some pics. :D

Here's a nice little article in the Wiki that should help. When I stack cut, I use blue painters tape around the entire stack and get it as tight as possible. Then I put a couple of finishing nails in the waste area in two spots. This keeps the wood from shifting while cutting. I usually don't like my stacks larger than .75" because if the blade flexes while you're cutting, the cuts will be different from the top to the bottom. Just take it slow and try not to put too much pressure on the blade and you'll be just fine.