Newbie From Missouri Needs a few tips!

cdawson41

Okay I tried searching some of the posts on here for answers to my questions........but there are so many LOL. So I'm really new to this just got my scroll saw last night after looking looking and looking some more. I did pretty good with the practice cuts from the Scroll Saw Workbook I got, but have a few questions. Like what speed should I set the blade at, and how do I figure out if I have the proper tension set on my blade. I did notice that it appeared sometimes that my blade was a little bent when I completed a cut though it did go back in place, maybe i was applying to much pressure. I was hesitant to turn too sharp etc when i was trying to make sharp turns but then realized if I view it as similar to my sewing machine it worked much better for me. So any tips on the above would be appreciated. Thanks.

I'll see if I can help you a little, as I'm sure others will also. As far as the speed, that depends on size of blade and material. Also, depends on you. I mean, sometimes with the speed of your saw will depend on how much control you have (ie. staying on the lines), I sometimes have trouble keeping my blades on the line I'm cutting and straying offline, so I turn my speed down to help.

As far as tension, I use the "guitar pluck" technique. Tensioning up the blade and plucking the blade and hearing a high pitch. General rule of thumb is this: Your blade shouldn't be so tight you can't have a little movement in it, but not so lose that you don't have the high pitch when you pluck it. Hope this helps you a little, and I'm sure others will chime in on this to help as this community is full of people willing to help.