Newbie with a question

Bubba1962

Hey all, newbie here from the Black Hills of South Dakota. I just finished a rather nice project, (in my opinion), it's a fretwork cross from the a magazine I got..now the big question.

I used 1/8" birch for the cutout, and then took some 3/4" Yellow Aspen, made a larger cross. (let's see if I can post a pic

crossonwood.jpg

SO, question is, how do I glue the fretwork onto the back board without making a mess?

I was thinking contact cement, or super glue, or even possibly the 3M 77 that I used to glue the pattern on the plywood. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated, thanks.

Bubba

I use Gorilla Wood Glue on everything. You have to make sure it is Gorilla WOOD Glue though. The rular stuff will expand and destroy your project. The wood glue is white, just like other brands of wood glue. If you don't want to worry about that differenciation, Elmers or Tightbond are great too. I just like Gorilla because of the faster set times.

For projects like yours, I lay a piece of paper down beside it and squirt a puddle of glue on the paper. Then I use my finger to spread it onto the back of the top piece. Then carefully position it on the bottom piece. Then it needs to be clamped to glue properly. If you don't have clamps, just carefully turn it upside down wothout moving the position of the top piece, and lay some bricks (or something pretty heavy) on the backer board.

After the glue is dry, you have a choice of leaving it natural, or applying some kind of finish like polyurethane or something. A tip for future reference is this. If you decide to stain your projects and want the cut piece and backer board in different stain colors, you can stain them. The glue will still bond to stained pieces. If you decide to attach pieces to painted parts though, use cement. My favorite for that is a brand called Duco cement.