scrolling-sit or stand--chair or stool-lemon oil???

floridagramps

I am just getting started and will buy Dewalt 788. Is buying the Dewalt stand a good idea or do most scrollers prefer to sit in a chair and have scroll saw closer to ground? Appreciate suggestions re scroll saw height and what type chair or stool might be most comfortable.

If mounting scroll saw closer to ground is advisable, I'd also appreciate suggestions on how to minimize vibration and maximize stability

I see Steve Good dipping his finished projects into a lemon oil bath(?) and then it looks like he uses a spray on shellac(?) for final coats. Can someone point me at a vendor for these products.

Suggestions from those of you who have been there and done that much appreciated

If you can afford it, I would go with the stand. The stand is specifically built to reduce vibration and add stability. I think you'll find most scrollers sit while scrolling. Some projects can take hours upon hours to complete. I personally use a folding chair. But I think a padded secretary's chair (without the arms) would work really well. That way you can adjust the height of the chair easily, and it's comfortable.

Steve Good uses a regular lemon oil that you can find at any grocery store. Its located in the dusting/cleaning supply area next to the Old English. Basically, it puts moisture back into your furniture. The oil will bring out the grain of the wood really nice. It doesn't offer much in the way of protection, which is why he coats his projects with a spray-on finish. For the spray finish, you can find that at any place that sells spray paint. I often get both the oil and spray finish at Walmart. I like getting clear acrylic spray finish. It has much less odor than the other stuff. You can choose how glossy you want it. I personally prefer Satin.