What size baltic birch plywood if framing.

bronx

As most know i'm new to the scroll saw world and I received a boat load of baltic birch with my saw. I have two 1/4 inch 5x5 sheets, one 1/2 inch and one 3/4 inch 5x5 sheets of BB.

What I have been doing is gluing two 8x11 inches together both 1/4 inch BB. One is of the scroll saw piece and the other a backing with a router edge taking the place of a fame. To me it looks like fido's butt compared to pieces I have seen on here with frames. 

Besides looking like fido's butt I spray the backer board flat back, glue them together, route the edge then put the finish on, but the finish always seems to run into the flat black on the backer board. Now everything is shinny...lol. So I lose the contrast; therefore, I want to go to framing.

My question is, is 1/4 inch BB thin enough for framing or do I need to go smaller like an 1/8 inch...?

Being in the Atlanta area I have access to all the BB I want with great pricing. A 5x5 sheet of 1/8 inch will run me about 15 bucks but I have all this 1/4 inch that I got for free or better yet came with the saw.

An 1/8 inch is about the smallest size that comes in a 5x5 sheet if I have to go smaller then it's of a hobby store.

LOL...basically I said all that to say this. What is the ideal size of BB to frame.

....I spray the backer board flat back, glue them together, route the edge then put the finish on, but the finish always seems to run into the flat black on the backer board. Now everything is shinny...lol. So I lose the contrast; therefore, I want to go to framing.

Can't you spray your finish on the cutting and then glue on the backer?