Lathe and scroll saw

tonylumps

I am enjoying both as a hobby.But if were trying to make a few extra bucks with either I would go for my lathe.When I started turning pens I had no intensions of selling any of them I sold quite a few pens by word of mouth at real good prices.Then I went on Etsie and checked what scroll work was selling for.Might as well give them away.So if I am enjoying a hobby and getting paid for it.That is a double wammy  Any other thoughts on this subject.

I just started with the lathe about a year ago. So I'm still learning and am much more confident with my scroll saw. However, my father-in-law turns bowls that are really artwork and getting a few hundred for them. Most are sold before he's finished with them. And I end up donating most of my bigger scroll projects to get rid of them, so I definitely agree with your point. People seem to appreciate the talent scrolling takes, but it isn't always something they want to pay for.

Edited by MTCowpoke22

I also do both and will say that if you want to make more money then turning is the way to go. The reason there is a greater audience to sell to than scroll work. I learned very quickly over 30 years ago when I started doing scroll work, people want functional items. The magazine racks, tissue boxes, napkin holders and of course clocks. The days of selling portraits and wall hanging things is and has always been a tough sell. Religious crosses will do fine too. 

But for the quick $$$$ turning a few pens will make you more money than hours of scrolling. Do not get me wrong there is always room for both. Turning is a higher initial outlay for tools and materials so it will take some time to recoup those losses so remember that too. Scrolling is not as much. Both are enjoyable hobbies and then combine the two and you really got things rolling. Those are my thoughts.