Scroll Saw Handbook

shoptime

What book would you recommend for a person just getting into scroll sawing? Thank you, Sean

I can't recommend these but Amazon has quite a few. The little bit I have learned I get from this forum and You Tube videos.

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_sc_10_10?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=scroll+saw+books&sprefix=scrollsaw+%2Caps%2C176&crid=MDYVDSS8GO6F

Rather than books, I would recommend checking out the tutorial videos here and on YouTube. There is so much there. Steve Good also is a great place to check out. Stevens sight is www.scrollsawworkshop.blogspot.com. He also has a lot of easy patterns and good videos as well. Me suggestions are all free and you will get a lot more patterns and information than you will from any book.

Dick

heppnerguy

I am just getting starting again after a 12 year layoff from scrolling. So, I am also a newbie and any advice I would give should be taken with a grain of salt. I agree with all the suggestions given already. But I enjoy studying a good book as well as watching the videos. So, the two books I have read (and found useful) are The New Scroll Saw Handbook by Patrick Spielman and the Scroll Saw Workbook by John Nelson. I especially like the workbook because each chapter leads you through a different project. Just my opinion and your mileage may vary.

If you are like me forget the books and You Tube.  I learn better by doing.  Make a letter pattern of the entire alphabet using something like Brush Scrpit font in MS Word.  Blow it up or print it out (two copies) so the letters are about 3" high. Attach it to pieces of 3/4" poplar or 1/2" Baltic Birch.  No piece of wood should be greater then 12" long. Cut all the letters.  Congrats you have now made just about every cut you could ever do using a scroll saw. Now do it a second time and see how much you have improved from the first cutting. 

Now you are ready for some real projects.