Photo puzzle wood

rjweb

Good afternoon,

I am cutting a photo puzzle, 5 x7, 140 pieces, yes I know I must be nuts, the puzzle pieces are small and I am using 1/4 inch poplar, finding some of the small areas are weak, what wood should I be using, I want these to last, thx RJ

i've done several dollar bill puzzles with 61 pieces in 1/4" and 1/8" dog puzzles,8" x 10"- i do in 3/4" plywood and are self standing.sounds like your on the right track.

Edited by amazingkevin

Thx for all the good advise, I know what to use and cut down the number of pieces in the puzzles. I know a lot of you cut without a pattern, I am not that good at it yet, and I am using the patterns, Steve good patterns. Is there a site where I can generate a puzzle pattern by the number of pieces and size, thx again, RJ

Cutting without a pattern is a lot easier then you think.  I talked my self out of cutting puzzles for years until I made up my mind to "waste" a couple pictures.  Look at the picture and start cutting along the edged of objects.  You will get the hang of it very quickly.  An you know those pictures I thought I would waste.  They made perfect puzzles.

I agree with Scott above. Cutting puzzles freehand is easier, and uses less waste and time. My icon is a picture of my first ever jigsaw puzzle. I started with a piece of waste 1/4" Baltic birch plywood. I practiced cutting puzzle pieces, and after about ten or twelve pieces, I felt I was ready to cut my puzzle.

post-23695-0-97786800-1484084571_thumb.jpeg

post-23695-0-06189100-1484084613_thumb.jpeg