The longest cut

malc

As we are just past the longest day here in U.K. I was wondering what is the longest time anyone has taken to complete a scrolling project. I took over a month to complete a wooden works clock. But most of that time was getting it to run properly! As I am new to scrolling i am still quite slow. I recently scrolled a rather complicated plaque for my wife which took several days, manly due to the fact i had to hide it at the sound of her approach!!

Malc

That's funny(hideing)! I spent months doing a little here a little there on travis's cadillac.It was a project i really wanted to do for along time.My saw was wore out and had to go super slow from the wobble side to side.It was a lengthy project and i did'nt want to start over from an accident.There werde a couple places i was,nt sure about if i should cut ,but thought it out and did ok.

My projects tend to take some time. The time on the Heron was around 50 hours for cutting and The Gatekeeper was around 45. Portraits go a bit faster. Max time on a portrait (4 faces) was about 8 hours.

http://www.scrollsawvillage.com/gallery/albums/userpics/12263/normal_Bob_Lung_Heron_Pattern.jpg

http://www.scrollsawvillage.com/gallery/albums/userpics/12263/normal_The_Gatekeeper_-_Zaffino.JPG

Is'nt that funny ,i was thinking about those two pictures awhile back and though they were way out of my limits of time to spend on a project.Now i have a very good refrence point to refer to.I,m going too show my friend your cuttings as he allways asks me how long did that one take.When i show him yours and tell him a week ,i bet his mouth drops open .Thats incredible you have the patience to do that kind of work!great job ! :)I've done a couple that took none stop 8 hrs and one 12 hours resently.The cars take time.Now a out line cut with a chisel took 6 hours on the face of jesus.