Metric???

3Dface

ok... being raised in the U.S. i have always used the "Imperial" standard of measurement until i started scrolling.

still when using store bought frames i stick to that standard but have found 180mm is easier to read than 7 3/32 because i have have trouble with getting confused with the different size lines. (although Dyslexia may have a little to do with it :cry::D)

i assume i am one of few in the U.S. but would love to know.

1 hour ago, dgman said:

I still use the old Imperial measurements. I'm too old to change. As far as frames, I make my own to fit the project rather than trying to size the project to a frame.

Thanks DG

i am still learning how to make frames. most portrait orders i have had have been for 8x10s but i have loved the challenge of making frames .  i may even understand how to be consistent one day.

All my frames are made in my shop. I still use the Imperial measurements to do the rough cuts etc. I'm sort of familiar with the metric system and it seems things are all headed that way. Cars started switching over to the metrics in the 1970's and are completely metric now. Hated when that happen being a mechanic I had to purchase tons of metric wrenches sockets and stuff. 

I'll agree with Frank, metric is intuitively easy.  That said I am comfortable in both.  But then again I was a military brat and retired myself too, so serving all over the world probably made me more familiar.

What I find is funny, is the 1/4", 3/8" and 1/2" ratchets, the square lug that extends from a metric ratchet is that SAE size.

What I hate, like the bolts on my Ex-21 table leg to machine mounting, the bolt and nut head was metric but the threads were SAE.  Now why in world would anyone special order a hybrid bolt as a manufacturer is beyond me.