New and need saw advice

Maine Vibes

Hi there!

I am new to scroll sawing.  I am currently practicing on a very old Dremel/craftsman motoshop 571-5.  I really want to do more intricate work in the future.  (names in cursive ect)  I hear great things about the dewalt and they go for close to $500 here in Maine.   I have been looking on craigslist.  There is a Hawk 220vs for sale.  He is asking 300 but its been up for a while and I bet i could talk him down.  It looks new and barely used.  

Should I just keep practicing with what i have and save up for a new dewalt or purchased used like the hawk.  

Thanks in advance!
I am attaching photo from ad.  
His description "Saw in excellent condition, only used couple times. Comes with foot pedal, tips and tricks books, templates, extra blades. Had big plans for making things in my spare time but not enough time in the day. "

32511960_1637067802995703_2333039326247518208_n.jpg

Sabrina, I was trying to figure out why you are not getting much response to you inquiry and a good welcome from the members.  I think the answer is the post is in the wrong Forum.   I think if we can get @Travis to move it to the "Introduction" Forum you will see some action. 

Welcome to SSV.  I would look into the saw first. Find your serial number and call the company.  They will tell you about the motor, whether it's old and could be a problem. The lady I talked to explained the deal with the old motor, what could happen and how much it would cost.. I didn't buy the saw it was looking new but was actually very old.  They can tell you how old it is..

If you want to  spend the money for first class I'd go with the 16" King or wait for the 21"  Otherwise the Dewalt is a good saw too.