Epoxy Resin??

kmmcrafts

I have a ton of keychains I made about 8 years ago.. They are silhouette cutout and then glued to a backer with a hole drilled for the chain.. I used the InLace material on some of them and sold them for a while.. they was good sellers at the time but the ones I have on hand wouldn't really look good with the red or black inlace.. so I got to thinking about the resin.. would rather have a clear probably gloss.. 

The first chain I made is one I use and have carried for a long time.. still holding up well with the inlace.. The reason I never sold the others is I thought the cutout would catch or snag the insides of the pocket or ?? and damage the pocket and or the cutting.. so i really wanted to fill this cutout.. back at that time.. i'd never heard of the epoxy resins.. and I have no experience with them at all.. Is this stuff strong durable stuff? Like if I coat the whole keychain will it wear off quickly?  If I only fill the void area.. can i sand it flush and buff it out shiny again.. 

I guess my real question is.. Is it strong and durable and how would you do this.. Just fill the void as level as you can without creating a lump. or lump it up and sand it down.. I'm contemplating buying some of this stuff.. If I do.. what's the shelf life of it? I have other projects I'd probably use it on eventually but.. from what i see a gallon works out cheaper than a 16oz. but then mayby not if I only use 16oz and the rest goes bad LOL.. 

Looking for any tips or advice on these.. I need to do something with about 100 keychains that have just been setting in limbo for a Looonnggg time.. I need to move them out.. Heck.. if they are still good sellers.. Maybe I'll make many more of them, LOL