wood type

Tabbi

I am a very new beginner and have only made about 4 things with my scroll saw. It's only been wooden signs with names on them. I have tried different types of wood from plywood to MDF board. The MDF board seems to have worked the best, but I'm having a hard time finding thinner pieces. I'm not really ready to go to more expensive wood yet, because I don't want to make a mistake and have it end up being firewood. So i guess my question is, what is a good type of wood to use for a beginner that won't chip when cutting?

Edited by Tabbi

Plywood is not suited to our hobby, the filler in between layers is not always dense enough and has voids

Baltic birch plywood is the best plywood for scrolling, hard to find a lot of time locally, but it can be ordered from amazon in various thicknesses and sizes.

Poplar is sold at the box (Home Depot, Lowes) stores, that scrolls well and is reasonably cheap.

Pine works too, especially if you cherry pick a stick with few to zero knots.  The box stores usually carry regular pine and "select yellow pine".

Designer firewood is a part of this addiction, we all have it, and sometimes boast about it.

chipping rare when using baltic birch plywood.  But it can also be somewhat controlled by speed.  I believe that a high speed on the saw, and a slow feed rate allows the blade to "revisit" the cut and reduces the fuzzies.  Feed rate = the rate you allow the wood to hit the saw.  Blades with reverse teeth also reduce the fuzzies a lot.

If you read on here a lot you will devotee's to about any blade made, with the exception of the blades you can buy at the box stores.  Flying Dutchman (Niqua), Pegas Modified Geometry are the two main brands for the majority of us.