Using spray adhesive over painter's tape--packing tape needed on top?

DarlBundren

On my current project, I am planning on covering the wood with painter's tape and then using spray adhesive to stick the patterns on.  If I go this route, is covering the pattern in packing tape necessary?  I've read some about the packing tape lubricating the blade some but am not sure this benefit warrants the extra steps and material.  And I am a complete noob.  Thanks!

The only time I do that is when doing some hardwoods.  Hard maple, cherry, purpleheart.

Especially when cutting the compound mini birdhouses do it all the time.

If I don't have to I don't as the sawdust sometimes get trapped at the line.  If fine work I only tape the back with box tape.

As Bill says usually packing tape is enough. Same with shelf liner.

39 minutes ago, don in brooklin on said:

The only time I do that is when doing some hardwoods.  Hard maple, cherry, purpleheart.

Especially when cutting the compound mini birdhouses do it all the time.

If I don't have to I don't as the sawdust sometimes get trapped at the line.  If fine work I only tape the back with box tape.

As Bill says usually packing tape is enough. Same with shelf liner.

Don, I've been trying to help a fellow on Facebook. He is doing compound cutting in maple and purpleheart, making a chess set. I told him to use a #5 skip tooth or superskip tooth blade. Can you advise on what I told him? I'd hate to lead him astray. Since you mentioned exactly what he is doing I thought I'd ask. Thanks for your help.

I used to be blue, glue, pattern and packing tape on everything. 

Recently, I got some slightly distressed rolls of shelf liner and now use it on larger projects, saving the expensive blue stuff for smaller projects.

Still use packing tape as a backup in case the 3M77 didn't get a good grab on the pattern. I did not use packing tape on 2 14 inch pieces I did recently, but I made sure there was plenty of spray glue on the liner.