Inkscape

Hawk

Just spent an hour trying to figure out Inkscape.  After getting no where I went to the University here and watched a few videos and learned one thing.

I am NOT a pattern designer.  My hats off to all of you that can do that. I was just trying a simple script name, got no where. 

Think I'll stick to free handing what I need. 

Chris

7 minutes ago, Hawk said:

Just spent an hour trying to figure out Inkscape.  After getting no where I went to the University here and watched a few videos and learned one thing.

I am NOT a pattern designer.  My hats off to all of you that can do that. I was just trying a simple script name, got no where. 

Think I'll stick to free handing what I need. 

Chris

Chris, I've spent he better part of 5 years and it's just now starting to come to me. I am able to manipulate some things and create some things but I'd starve to death if my livelihood depended on it. Keep at it and it will happen. 

I looked for a class to take. I have also done a lot of reading on the Inkscape website. There is also a pretty good Facebook group that answers quickly. I tried the Youtube videos but they were either done by folks with strong accents or lousy cameras/mikes or they went so fast I couldn't follow. I've gotten help here from the Villagers & Travis too. I'd love to sit in a classroom setting and be able to ask questions. Trying to follow from a book is difficult. I spent $50 on a Gimp book and didn't get far. That's a really tough program. Just stting up the screen and workspace was too much for me. Good luck. Don't give up. Ask lots of questions.

Edited by OCtoolguy

I have been "playing" with Inkscape for the last 10 years.  It all started with Free4all.  Rick did a great set of videos on pattern making. That sparked my interest.

I have watched all the videos here in the University which are great and also took the course by "Logos by Nick". https://logosbynick.com/inkscape/