Delta 40-694 Blade Won't Tighten

Ravitch

Howdy Folks,

I scored a Delta 40-694 from Offer Up for $150 that a lady had used twice and was too scared to continue. I'm new to scroll sawing, and everything had worked great out of the gate. Then I tried to cut a 2" block to rough out a shape for carving, definitely with the wrong type of blade for that. Ended up with the blade getting hung up, then all chaos ensued as it just slammed all over until the blade broke and I remembered where the off switch was.  Since then, I can't seem to get new blades tight; when I put the blade on the tightening mechanism will bottom out and the blade has some play, whereas before this mishap I would have a tight blade probably at number 3. I went through the manual online and it doesn't really address this scenario. 

Anyone have an idea what might be going on/what I can fix to get a tight blade again?  Thanks in advance for any assistance, really appreciate it.

Chris, first welcome to the forum, and second, sorry I can not help. I haver never worked with a Delta.  I here they are very similar to the Dewalt saw.  There is a set of Pagas blade clamps that work on the Dewalt, I believe, If and if it is determeined you need new clamps, that may be the way to go.  Hang on here , you will get more information soon.  There are other scrollers here that have that saw.   They can provide better info than I can.

Just checked and yep there is a set of  pegas clamps for the Delta and Dewalt.  We have a member that sells them. Great guy to deal with. @Denny Knappen.  Don't rush, wait for others to chime in.

First, Welcome to the village!