Pegas or Seyco

Pompeio

I have no experience using a scroll saw but am looking at either the Pegas or Seyco scroll saw with stand.  I am an experienced hobbyist woodworker having previously made cabinetry and furniture and am also learning to use a lathe.

I know the Pegas and Seyco are not inexpensive but I prefer to spend more money now then getting something less expensive and later regretting the purchase. Both saws are similarly priced although the Seyco does include the stand.  I have read quite a bit and watched a number of videos regarding both units.  There seem to be a lot of “pros” and not many “cons” for either saw.  

Pegas certainly has a much larger retail network both in store (Klingspor and Woodcraft) and on-line whereas Seyco appears to be available only through their own website.  Customer service seems to be outstanding through either saw’s on-line retailers. My main concern with the Seyco is the service and parts availability should this small enterprise close shop.

Anyone with experience with either or both saws with a recommendation or general advice care to help in my decision?

Both great saws but the Pegas has features that the Seyco doesn't. The blade clamps are better and the head tilting mechanism is better. Granted, Ray at Seyco offers fantastic service but you already addressed that. Unless you need a large table, I'd buy the Pegas. I have 2 Excaliburs on homemade stands so that isn't an issue unless it's important to you. Either way, you will have a great saw. 

Welcome to the village!!