New member intro

Just signed in. I'm a rank amateur with 2 years of scrolling and some hand-carving. Learning with every project. Lots of questions. I'm feeling limited by my fairly new DW788 and looking for advice. I like close, complicated cutting and find the DW a bit hard to control. Th blade seems to flail around until I engage it in a cut which makes predicting where it will land an uncertainty. Also difficult to control on tight curves and corners. Welcoming ideas and opinions.

IMG_0293.jpg

IMG_0897.JPG

IMG_0865.jpg

While I have no knowledge about the DeWalt, I feel your biggest issue is experience... and possibly saw setup. When running the saw, the blade should be running straight up and down. If not, it is possible some tweaking may be necessary. Others in the Village with this brand of saw may pipe in if this is the case. As far as control in turns, slowing down your push into the blade, or on sharp turns, slight back pressure, seems to work for me. I also like the intricate projects and depending on the thickness of the material and blade choice, I've found you can cut pretty delicate pieces with everything tuned right and patiences.

Welcome to the Village. There are a lot of great people here with a vast amount of knowledge. I've only been scrolling for a few years where others here have many, many years experience. Don't hesitate to ask questions and we love photos. Great work on your bowls and tree of life.

The Dewalt will cut more aggressively than some other saws on the market.  Unlike some other saws of similar design, there is no way to adjust the vertical stroke to be less aggressive as can be done on an Excalibur, Pegas and some other brands.