Cutting issues

artmill

Hi All, I am new to scrolling and not sure if I am doing this wrong or what. The problem that I am having is controlling the cut. I am finding that when I am cutting a single piece of 1/4" BB it is difficult to control small kerf cuts, I tried to slow the cutting speed on my dewalt but still same problem. I am using Fd sr5 blade and cutting a clock pattern from Scroller LTD (if that helps). Is it just me?

I'm not sure what BB is but it appears you are using too big of a blade for 1/4" material.. Try using a 3 or even a 1 reverse tooth and slow down your feed rate.

Feed rate is just as important as scroll saw speed. Try slowing down your feed rate. I have found over the years that slowing down the feed rated and using a slower speed on my saw makes for a nice clean cut. But hey, that's just me. Just keep at it, you'll figure what works for you. You may end up with a few pieces of scrap but that's all part of learning. We all did it.

I find the smaller the blade, the more it has a tendency to wander and harder to control. But, with a bigger blade, it is harder to make tighter turns. You can try a #5 and see if that helps. I personally like a #3 for 1/4 Baltic Birch. Works well for me.

One thing to watch is if you're putting too much pressure on the side of the blade. Try this exercise next time you're cutting. Every once in awhile, loosen up on your workpiece and see if it bounces back a little. If so, you're putting sideways pressure on the blade. I do this exercise quite often when I'm cutting and usually surprised that I'm putting pressure on the side of the blade.