Curved objects

Marvin

All right, I will admit it.  I can't follow the lines on a project.  I realize I am new to this hobby, but not following lines go all the way back to grade school when I would get a "U" for keeping colors inside the lines.  I'm wanting to get into making bowls, but even after practicing and following online tutorials, I still can't follow.  I think I'm getting into a big of a hurry.  I've thought about making bigger lines, but I don't think staying in a 1 inch line would look very good(although it might solve the problem).  I know I'm sounding not serious but I really am.  Any suggestions short of quitting.

Can you stay within a blade's width to either side of the line? if you can, you should have no troubles making bowls. The sanding will take a little longer but you can still do it. As for cutting on the lines, just take your time. Hopefully you are not using spiral blades. That would definitely be harder to control for bowls. 

Yeah like Dan said are you using spiral blades? Do you have your speed the highest it will go? Turn it down. The thicker the wood the higher stroke per minute that also goes for hard wood. If you use pine ( soft) turn the speed down. Now how is your tension on you blade if it has a lot of slack in it it will cause you to wonder ( zigzag) so make sure you tention is tight.the last thing is try not to push your wood to hard against your blade let the blade do the work.this all takes practice you will get the hang of it.Karl