cutting portraits with spiral blades

scroller111

Hello everyone,

I was going through the forum and didn't see any topics on this.

I cut out a I pic of Yoda for my nephew. I got the pattern off the internet from another pattern maker.

The problem is, I have never used a spiral blade before. I didn't realize how much fuzz and rough cuts are left behind afterwards.

Does anyone have a good solution to sand these without ruining the project?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

post-1283-0-05519900-1389828280_thumb.jpg

Right now, you're left with sanding or burning like mentioned above.  I prefer sanding.

Future ones, you can put on a backer or cover the back with blue masking tape.  I also stack cut 1/8" BB Ply when cutting with spirals.  The top ones will be nice and clean.  The bottom will be a bit fuzzier.  You can also use the scroll reverse spirals, which help.  

Great cutting, BTW.  Patterns like that lend themselves well to spiral blades.

I was on this thread a little while ago and for some reason i was unable to open your post picture nor could I post my reply, so I am going to retype it. I have found that the spiral blades do not give me the cleaner cut I am looking for so I opt to use a double tooth blade instead, Some people unjoy the spiral blades and do wonderful work with them. I also am not able to keep very good control with them. Everyone has a blade that works for them, personally, so if you likethe spiral blade, then I suggest you go for it. Travis made a good suggesting about stack cutting and I also do that when I cut with 1/8th inch wood. It not only helps with at cleaner cut but I find it makes the blade less agressive and eaier to control in very tight areas, where on slip could end up making the piece a scrap. I am glad you asked about it and we would be interested and knowing what you finally did with it.