My first end grain cutting board

Luperez548

This is my first attempt with this technique, made from recycled wood, it is 18" x 10 1/2" x 1 1/4", came out from cedar, mahogany, red oak, and 2 different types of pine wood. After 3 days working on it due to clamp process for gluing, I got this done today, now I am sealing it with me real oil. Next time I would spend some more time aligning it, but looks fine to me for a very first tray, what do you think? I am attaching few pictures of the process steps.

post-14452-0-29749700-1393525955_thumb.jpg

post-14452-0-00460200-1393525987_thumb.jpg

post-14452-0-81216500-1393526019_thumb.jpg

post-14452-0-23758600-1393526079_thumb.jpg

post-14452-0-71814100-1393526103_thumb.jpg

post-14452-0-01448700-1393526130_thumb.jpg

Very nice.

I really like routed upper edge.

I have done quite a few cutting boards and never used soft woods like pine and cedar.  

Did you use CBdesinger or did you make the pattern up on you own,

Don

thanks Don for your couching, it very interesting learning from experts this is my very first one, I noticed when planning the border, Cedar is fragile, pine used has lot of resin and I had no problem with it. Thanks again, if you have any other tip, please, let me know about, will be very appreciated.

Super looking project,hope it did'nt go thru the planer!These multi wood project are fine as wine.What glues did you use. i'm looking for a slow setting glue hopefully water base for a project coming up.I've aquired lots of hard woods lately and in thin strips perfect for similar projects like this. i want to see what i can come up with differant. :)

Very nice.

I really like routed upper edge.

I have done quite a few cutting boards and never used soft woods like pine and cedar.  

Did you use CBdesinger or did you make the pattern up on you own,

Don

I forgot to mention the design was done by myself. Could you please let me know more details about that software?