What do you wish someone would have told you when you started?

Hi guys and gals.  I am new to the scrolling crowd.  I am looking for any and all advice that you wish someone would have told you when you started out(blade sizes, wood thickness, starter patterns, etc).  Thanks in advance.

James

Hi James, I'm Roy from Scotland. You're looking for advice???, well you've chosen the right place for that. You won't need an encyclopaedia, you'll get all the information you need here,and more, just ask and an answer will come from some corner of the world. What's more you will have a whole load of new friends, and some fun. So come on in James, and most importantly ENJOY yourself. If you've got some spare CASH, our expert, Amazing Kevin, (and he is amazing), will show you how to turn DOLLAR BILLS into jigsaws, now that is amazing. WELCOME James. :cool:  :cool: move your question to the introduction section and everyone will see it. James.

Rob Roy.

Edited by Rob Roy

James ole pal, good buddy. Welcome !!  When I started scrolling I didn't know about the Village or

any other scrollers. I just jumped in.

You have an advantage and by starting here.

I'm a proponent of searching. There is a search panel in the upper right.

Start in General Scroll Sawing and enter "blades for new scrollers". See what comes up.

Whatever you search for most likely has been covered a time or two.

Wood thickness is by choice but generally not more than 3/4 inch.  Many scrollers use

Baltic Birch plywood (stackable). Starter patterns are your choice, again, do a search in

Patterns and New pattern anouncement,,, etc.

We love to see especially the first one.

Larry

Welcome James. Ask and you'll have more helpful answers than you know what to do with!!

I would say that in addition to asking about blades, patterns, wood and so forth, if you haven't gotten a machine yet, try as many as you can before you buy!! Find the one that suits you and either get it then or start saving up for it.